Eggs, Toast & Brats

June 16, 2010

Last week I went home for the weekend to celebrate my birthday with the family. Home is in Milwaukee. Actually the suburbs of Milwaukee. New Berlin. I always enjoy going home to spend time with my younger brother and sister and parents. I also enjoy going home to cook. My parents have a great kitchen, bigger than mine, and its wonderful to be able to cook with everything I need right at my fingertips. Saturday morning I was getting ready to make pulled pork and pulled chicken tacos for my birthday party that night, but in the meantime, I was hungry and needed breakfast. It is hard to stick with my farmers’ market and local grocery requirements when home, but I do my best, and overall the goal is still to have healthy food, good, wholesome food. I’d say mission accomplished, and in a fast and delicious meal. I love eggs. Those are always a go-to for me. We had eaten fresh brats from the butcher the night before so we had chicken, feta, spinach brats, beer brats and Wisconsin Cheese brats on hand. This recipe is easy and delicious. You can definitely switch up the ingredients based on what you have available.

Eggs, Toast & Brats

2 eggs

1/2 chicken, spinach and Feta brat

1/2 Wisconsin Cheese brat

1/2 brat bun

butter, about 5 slices

1 tbsp water

chopped cilantro to garnish


Slice up both brat halves. Heat small non-stick pan with 1 slice butter. Place brat halves in skillet. Heat until crispy. Meanwhile, heat another non-stick skillet with 1 slice butter. Crack both eggs into skillet. Add water and cover. As brats are crisping up butter inside of brat bun with remaining butter. Move brats slices to side of pan to keep warm. Place bun, buttered-side-down, in the same pan and the brat slices. Heat until it starts to grill up. By this time the eggs should be finished. Place all food on a plate. Garnish with chopped cilantro. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

