Everything But the Kitchen Sink

May 27, 2010

I’ve spent this week concentrating on two things when it comes to cooking and eat:

1. Eating out at all my favorite places in Madison. I know. I know. This isn’t about indulging and then “suffering” because it won’t be suffering at all! It’s about a lifestyle change. But Madison has more restaurants per capita than any other city (or so that’s always been the rumor) and there are so many great places to enjoy here. I had sushi this week, ate at my favorite Mexican place, enjoyed locally produced ice cream, a BLT and fries (pictured above) and had Wisconsin (see, see) deep fried cheese curds from a great restaurant that serves a lot of local food, The Old Fashioned. Yum.

2. Cleaning up my pantry and fridge. I tried oh-so-hard to not go grocery shopping and finish using up any leftover ingredients that I had around. One can imagine, that by the end of the week there wasn’t much to work with in my kitchen. I think all that is left in the pantry, as I write this, is a bag of brown rice, wheat bran and Thai rice paper. The fridge: cranberry juice and spicy spring greens (from the farmers’ market last week).

I was quite impressed with the concoctions I managed to make from not having much left in the house.

A spicy shrimp stir fry.

Seafood Arrabbiata. (One of my favorite Italian dishes.)

This one was the most interesting. Tonight I wasn’t feeling too well so I wanted to go buy chicken noodle soup from the deli. Instead I made homemade soup from a box of kluski noodle soup, shredded carrots and bok choy.

It is amazing what you can make with a little ingenuity. Five more days until the summer market challenge starts.

One Response to “Everything But the Kitchen Sink”

  1. wasabi prime Says:

    Cheers to cleaning out the pantry/freezer/fridge. I get into a weird squirrel mode, buying nonperishables or random things on sale and just hoarding it, thinking I need to save it for a rainy day. Well, it rains a LOT in the PacNW where I live, so my pantry shouldn’t be that full. It’s a fun Iron Chef challenge to cook with whatever’s on-hand!


Leave a Reply

