My Miss List

May 25, 2010

As Memorial Day approaches I can’t help but find myself already secretly longing the things I won’t be able to enjoy this summer (for reference refer to previous blog post): avocados on my tacos, sushi and sashimi, seafood. Why is it that we always want what we can’t have.

Because I love all types of food so dearly, I wanted to make a “miss list” of my favorite foods. Not to say I won’t enjoy my experience this summer – I’m super excited – but just a fond fairwell, goodbye, adios to some great meals. (p.s. If anyone finds any of these things locally – Wisconsin – by some sort of miracle, let me know!)

1. Avocados – my favorite food. I will miss you.

2. Sushi – so refreshing.

3. Oranges, orange juice, citrus in general.

4. Burrito Drive

5. Ian’s

6. Tequila – enough said.

7. Peanut Butter? Must confirm.

8. Chocolate!!!!

9. Shrimp, lobster, crab, seafood in general.

10. Good Chinese, Japanese, Cantonese food.

An ode to all these delicious foods! Thanks – but I am really looking forward to fresh farmers’ market finds this summer.

The Wednesday market is tomorrow!

7 Responses to “My Miss List”

  1. Devon Says:

    You can definitely get locally made chocolate – check out Gail Ambrosius. They sell that with the REAP Homegrown fundraiser. It is GOOD!

    • Amanda Says:

      Actually I know Gail. But unfortunately, the cacao plant comes from Mexico and other southern hemisphere states (not Wisconsin), and so does all of Gail’s chocolate. It is amazing though. Her caramels are divine.

  2. Nate Says:

    I bet you can find some local peanut butter – if not, I’ll make some for you. I can grow peanuts in a container this summer, I’ve always wanted to try! 🙂

  3. ashiashay Says:

    My second cousin just started selling peanut butter at some of the local markets (Hilldale on Wed/Saturday) and South Side on Sunday. Here is the website. I don’t know for sure where the peanuts are grown, but you might want to check it out. http://www.yummypb.com

  4. Shayla Says:

    Hey, don’t know about the peanuts being grown in Wisconsin…but I am glad you’ve connected with the peanut butter guy. (We’re related, so I am happy to promote family as well)

  5. adrian Says:

    @shayla and @amanda – madison is a small town!

    fyi – the peanuts are from Missouri right now. about the closest place i could find consistent (and yummy) organic ones. i haven’t heard any success stories about growing them in WI unfortunately.

    @Nate – let me know when those container peanuts pop-up, er down, and you can be my new supplier.

    off to find snazzberries!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

